Australian Cricket Team Visits Fordingbridge

IFCR, International Fellowship of Cricket Rotarians from Australia return to Fordingbridge, the home of IFCR cricket. Arriving on Sunday 6th July, a President’s reception for Host and Guest opened the innings of friendships old and new. Swanage was the venue for Monday, Steam Railway, Yacht Club Lunch and Lifeboat Station Guided tour courtesy of Swanage Rotary Members. Then Cricket at Woodgreen on Tuesday, always an enjoyable occasion in such wonderful surroundings, this event is played to win, Aussies V Fordingbridge and District, leg slip or silly mid on might some up the humour that is pitched at each other. Result: Aussie’s were allowed to win! by 23 runs. Fordingbridge Ladies bowled everyone who attended a fantastic supply of food and drinks for this wonderful occasion. Final conclusion to this enjoyable four days was waiting by the River Avon for the Coach to Somerset, the Aussie’s checking the scene of the Festival Duck Race. Will their Ducks be winning on the 20th July?

Australian Tour Party 2013Toast and pre-match presentation
Fordingbridge and District TeamAustralian Team
  • Mike Jackson (Captain)
  • Stan Broomfield
  • Adrian Dowding
  • Iain Savage
  • Kevin Graves
  • Gordon Scammell
  • Stephen Maycock
  • John King
  • Nick Lockyer
  • Simon White
  • Paul Ansty
  • Sean Holden (Captain)
  • Bob Brigden
  • Patrick O’Shea
  • Aurthr Manser
  • Bruce Pooley
  • Jim Gibson
  • Tony Plant
  • Kevin Scanlon
  • David Horsley
  • Ian Robertson
  • Ross Williams
  • Cole Whiteman
  • Rob Kilcullen
  • Lloyd Dungey

Umpires: Iain Kidson Fordingbridge and Australian Team Member. Scorers: Dennis Wilson and Richard Harte